Elections 2008: Volta

  • Date Created

    March, 1957



  • History

    Volta Region (or Volta), is one of Ghana's sixteen administrative regions, with Ho designated as its capital.[3][4] It is located west of Republic of Togo and to the east of Lake Volta. Divided into 25 administrative districts, the region is multi-ethnic [5]and multilingual, including groups such as the Ewe, the Guan, and the Akan peoples. The Guan peoples include the Lolobi, Likpe, Akpafu, Buem, and Nkonya (now part of Oti region) people, et al. This region was carved out of the Volta Region in December 2018 by the New Patriotic Party. The Volta region was formed by the state union of the former British Togoland which was part of the German protectorate of Togoland. It was administered as part of the Gold Coast by the British and later renamed Trans-Volta Togoland.

  • Demographics

    The native and largest ethnic group of the Volta Region (Togoland / British Togoland) are the Ewe people (68.5% of the population). They consist of several sub groups such as the Anlo Ewe, Tongu Ewe, Wedome and Avenor Ewe. Other ethnicities include the Guan people (forming 9.2% of the population), the Akan people (8.5%), and the Gurma people (6.5% of the population). The Volta region is run by a Regional Coordinating Council (RCC) and a District Assembly. The RCC is made up of the Volta Regional Minister who is the political head and his deputy as well as representatives of the Regional House of Chiefs, the District Chief Executives of the Volta region, the Presiding Members of the 12 Districts Assemblies and representatives of the various decentralized Ministries, Departments and Agencies in the Volta region. Each district is run by a District Assembly

After 15 out of 15 Constituencies Declared







JOHN E. ATTA-MILLS NDC 514,416 92.10%
NANA A. AKUFO-ADDO NPP 44,145 7.90%

President: Marginal Wins

Constituency Votes Difference Percentage
South Dayi 14,413
NDC - 91.75%
NPP - 8.25%
Central Tongu 18,100
NDC - 85.83%
NPP - 14.17%
Hohoe South 20,358
NDC - 92.28%
NPP - 7.72%
Ketu North 24,767
NDC - 83.03%
NPP - 16.97%
Ho East 24,769
NDC - 93.54%
NPP - 6.46%