Elections 2008: Savannah

  • Date Created

    February, 2019



  • History

    A referendum on 27 December 2018[7] approved the creation of Savannah Region, with 206,350 (99.52%) votes in favour on a turnout of 81.77%.[8][9][10] CI 115 establishing the Region signed and presented on 12 February 2019.[11] Upon receiving favourable responses from all stakeholders in the Northern Region (the region it was broken off from), the Brobbey Commission (the Commission tasked with the creation of the new regions), a referendum was conducted on the 27th December 2018. The result was a resounding yes of 99.7%. The President of the Republic of Ghana signed and presented the Constitutional Instrument (CI) 115 to the Yagbonwura in the Jubilee House, Accra on 12 February 2019. The launch was well attended by sons and daughters of Gonjaland including all current and past Mps, MDCEs and all appointees with Gonjaland descent. Damongo was declared the capital of the new Savannah Region. It is located in the north of the country.

  • Demographics

    The Savannah Region is bordered on the north by the Upper West region, on the west by the Ghana-Côte d'Ivoire international border, on the south by the Bono and Bono East regions, and on the west by the North East and Northern regions. Savannah region is made up of 7 districts. The Savannah Region is much drier than southern areas of Ghana, due to its proximity to the Sahel, and the Sahara. The vegetation consists predominantly of grassland, especially savanna with clusters of drought-resistant trees such as baobabs or acacias. Between December and April is the dry season. The wet season is between about July and November with an average annual rainfall of 750 to 1050 mm (30 to 40 inches). The highest temperatures are reached at the end of the dry season, the lowest in December and January. However, the hot Harmattan wind from the Sahara blows frequently between December and the beginning of February. The temperatures can vary between 14 °C (59 °F) at night and 40 °C (104 °F) during the day.

After 3 out of 3 Constituencies Declared







JOHN E. ATTA-MILLS NDC 44,676 61.52%
NANA A. AKUFO-ADDO NPP 27,940 38.48%

President: Marginal Wins

Constituency Votes Difference Percentage
Yapei/Kusawgu 3,688
NDC - 57.11%
NPP - 42.89%
Damongo 4,372
NDC - 58.52%
NPP - 41.48%
Sawla-Tuna-Kalba 8,676
NDC - 70.65%
NPP - 29.35%