Elections 2008: North East

  • Date Created

    February, 2019



  • History

    The North East Region of Ghana was a proposed new region to be carved out of the existing Northern Region of Ghana. The creation of this new region was in fulfillment of a promise made by the New Patriotic Party prior to the 2016 Ghana general election. Upon winning the elections, the President, Nana Akuffo Addo created the Ministry of Regional Reorganization to oversee policy formulation and implementation, and Hon. Solomon Namliit Boar, Mp for Bunkpurugu Constituency and former Deputy Northern Regional Minister was appointed as the first Regional Minister for the newly created North East Region. In all six new regions were to be created from the existing ten regions of Ghana. The other regions are Western North, Bono, Bono East, Ahafo, Savannah and Oti regions.[3] A referendum vote held on December 27, 2018 was successful with 81% voter turnout in the proposed region voting 99.8% in favor of the creation of the North East Region.[1] The region's proposed capital is the town of Nalerigu in the East Mamprusi Municipal Assembly. [2]

  • Demographics

    The North East Region is bordered on the north by the Upper East region, on the east by the eastern Ghana-Togo international border, on the south by the Northern region, and on the west by the Upper West region. North East region is made up of 6 districts. The North East Region is much drier than southern areas of Ghana, due to its proximity to the Sahel, and the Sahara. The vegetation consists predominantly of grassland, especially savanna with clusters of drought-resistant trees such as baobabs or acacias. Between December and April is the dry season. The wet season is between about June and November with an average annual rainfall of 750 to 1050 mm (30 to 40 inches). The highest temperatures are reached at the end of the dry season, the lowest in December and January. However, the hot Harmattan wind from the Sahara blows frequently between December and the beginning of February. The temperatures can vary between 17 °C (63 °F) at night and 47 °C (117 °F) during the day.

After 3 out of 3 Constituencies Declared







JOHN E. ATTA-MILLS NDC 32,659 52.54%
NANA A. AKUFO-ADDO NPP 29,497 47.46%

President: Marginal Wins

Constituency Votes Difference Percentage
Yagaba/Kubori 1,593
NDC - 57.24%
NPP - 42.76%
Chereponi 2,369
NPP - 57.00%
NDC - 43.00%
Walewale 3,938
NDC - 55.75%
NPP - 44.25%