Elections 2008: Bono East

  • Date Created

    February, 2019



  • History

    A referendum on 27 December 2018[10] resulted in 450,812 casting their votes representing 85.82 per cent of 525,275 registered voters. 448,545 (99.50 per cent); voted in favour of the creation of the new region with 1,384 (0.31 per cent) voting against. A total of 883 (0.20 per cent) ballots were rejected The Bono East region of Ghana is a new region carved out of the existing Brong Ahafo region. The capital of the new region is Techiman.[3][4] This creation of this new region was in fulfillment of a promise made by the New Patriotic Party prior to the 2016 Ghana general election. Upon winning the elections, the President, Nana Akuffo Addo created the Ministry of Regional Reorganization to oversee policy formulation and implementation. In all six new regions are to be created from the existing ten regions of Ghana. The other regions are Bono, Western North, Ahafo, Savannah, North East, and Oti regions.[5]

  • Demographics

    The Bono East Region borders on the north the Savannah Region, on the west the Bono Region, on the south the Ashanti region and on the east the Volta Lake. The Bono East region is part of the vegetative belt of Ghana and enjoy a climate that is not harsh. The vegetation consists predominantly of forest and fertile soils. Between December and April is the dry season. The wet season is between about July and November with an average annual rainfall of 750 to 1050 mm (30 to 40 inches). The highest temperatures are reached at the end of the dry season, the lowest in December and January. However, the hot Harmattan wind from the Sahara blows frequently between December and the beginning of February. The temperatures can vary between 14 °C (59 °F) at night and 40 °C (104 °F) during the day.

After 7 out of 7 Constituencies Declared







JOHN E. ATTA-MILLS NDC 124,668 55.65%
NANA A. AKUFO-ADDO NPP 99,338 44.35%

President: Marginal Wins

Constituency Votes Difference Percentage
Techiman North 322
NPP - 50.61%
NDC - 49.39%
Nkoranza North 672
NPP - 51.82%
NDC - 48.18%
Nkoranza South 1,979
NDC - 52.86%
NPP - 47.14%
Kintampo South 3,200
NDC - 56.57%
NPP - 43.43%
Techiman South 6,324
NDC - 55.43%
NPP - 44.57%