Elections 2008: Oti

  • Date Created

    February, 2019



  • History

    The execution of plans for the creation of the regions was seeded to the newly created Ministry of Regional Reorganization and Development[5] which is under the leadership of Hon. Dan Botwe. Government of Ghana ministry charged with the responsibility of supervising the creation of new regions in Ghana.[5] In March 2017, the ministry sent the blue print for the creation of the region along with others to the Council of State. The council met over 36 times from the time of submission to August 2017.[6] The final stage for the creation of the region was decided through a referendum by the people within the catchment of the new region.[7] A referendum on 27 December 2018[8] approved the creation of Oti Region. On election day, 323,708 out of 366,481 (88.33% voter turnout) registered voters cast their votes. A total of 319,296 (98.64 per cent) voted Yes and 2,878 voted No (0.89 per cent) while the number of rejected ballots was 951 (0.24 per cent).[9][10][11]

  • Demographics

    The Oti Region is bordered on the north by the Northern region, to the south by the Volta Region, and to the west by the Volta Lake. It has 9 districts. The Oti Region is much drier than the rest of the southern areas of Ghana, due to its proximity to the north. The vegetation consist of mostly of grassland, especially savanna with clusters of drought-resistant trees such as baobabs or acacias. Between December and April is the dry season. The wet season is between about May and November with an average annual rainfall of 750 to 1050 mm (30 to 40 inches). The highest temperatures are reached at the end of the dry season, the lowest in December and January. However, the hot Harmattan wind from the Sahara blows frequently between December and the beginning of February. The temperatures can vary between 14 °C (59 °F) at night and 40 °C (104 °F) during the day.

After 7 out of 7 Constituencies Declared







JOHN E. ATTA-MILLS NDC 116,483 66.75%
NANA A. AKUFO-ADDO NPP 58,028 33.25%

President: Marginal Wins

Constituency Votes Difference Percentage
Nkwanta North 1,494
NDC - 53.65%
NPP - 46.35%
Krachi East 5,039
NDC - 61.55%
NPP - 38.45%
Nkwanta South 8,480
NDC - 63.54%
NPP - 36.46%
Akan 10,036
NDC - 71.29%
NPP - 28.71%
Krachi West 10,949
NDC - 65.97%
NPP - 34.03%